• Report:  #529419

Complaint Review: Econolodge - Williamsville NY - Buffalo New York

Reported By:
Lori - Belleville, Ontario, Canada

Econolodge - Williamsville NY
7200 Transit Road, Williamsville, NY Buffalo, 14221 New York, United States of America
Tell us has your experience with this business or person been good? What's this?
Report Attachments

My sister and I spent the weekend of Nov.20-22 at the Econolodge, Williamsville (suburb of Buffalo), NY.  We'd stayed there 3 or 4 times before.  It's a basic, bare bones hotel, but usually clean and the people are pleasant.

We stayed in the same room we were in the last time we were there in Sept.'09. i.e. Room 220.  We didn't notice until we got home, but we were both covered with bed bug bites.  We each received 50+ bites.

I notified Choice Hotels and they advised me they would send a report to the hotel management and I would received resolution within 72 hours.  I got a brief email back from hotel management copied below:

Dear Lori S.  ,I am Writing in regards to your recent saty with us at Econolodge. I am truly sorry you were Not completely satisfied with your stay. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this is may have caused you and your family.And i assure u it will not happen again .I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of this so that it could be addressed accorgingly .And i also assure u that we treat our rooms every month and we never had any problem with the particular room .i hope you will accept our deepest apologies.We value you as a guest and want your saty to be pleasurable.We thankyou for choosing Econolodge ,and we hope we may have chance to better serve you on a furture stay .should you have any further question or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me. Thankyou .

Dharmesh Patel

General manager

Econo lodge

7200 transit road williamsville ny 14221


I responded and told them 'it would definitely not happen again because we won't be back' and I included photos of my bites.  I asked them to refund the $122. we spent for the two nights.  I've received no further response.

When I was leaving the hotel, the desk clerk told me they were booked solid for the Thanksgiving weekend and the rates were double!  Everybody staying there this weekend is paying twice as much to get eaten alive.

My biggest fear is my sister and I transported bed bugs from Econolodge to our homes in Belleville & Burlington.  We both took precautions to prevent this, but since we didn' realize we had bed bug bites until researching online, there was time for this to happen.  If it turns out that we have to fumigate our homes, I'm going to expect them to pay for it as well as hotel & kennel expenses for 5 dogs while it's being done.

When I got home, I Googled Bed Bugs Econolodge, Williamsville and found a review from someone else that experienced the same thing in Sept. '09.

Reports & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!